MagLiciouz: Leonardo DiCaprio On The Cover Of GQ

Sexy Actor Leonardo DiCaprio is feature on the cover of the October issue of GQ. During the interview, the pair opened up about the biography/drama, an R-rated flick that centers on the long-running face of law enforcement, J. Edgar Hoover.

On Relashionship with his father

“My father has always been a huge force with me. I had passed on a script about the French poet Arthur Rimbaud [Total Eclipse]. He explained to me that Rimbaud was the James Dean of his time—a radical who took on the institution of poetry and turned it upside down. I did the movie, and I loved playing him. If I just waited for moments of I have to do this, I would do a movie only every four or five years.”

“For my generation, it’s always the ’70s. That period where you felt like the hands were being dealt back in the director’s favor. The studios realized that letting them tell their stories was something the audience had a hunger for. And of course, it all went awry. [They both laugh.] Taxi Driver to me is the ultimate independent-movie performance. Playing a character like Travis Bickle is every young actor’s wet dream.”

Reflecting on his career 

“My introduction to acting in films was with De Niro in This Boy’s Life. When I got the part I was 15, and somebody said, ‘Do you realize who you’re gonna work with?’ I said, ‘Yeah, I guess.’ And they said, ‘No, no, no. Go watch all of his films, and then go see these people’s films.’ So I obsessively watched films on VHS, and I remember feeling so overwhelmed by what had been done in cinema already. Watching a young Brando or James Dean or Montgomery Clift, I was like, Oh, my God, how can anyone ever hope to achieve that type of greatness?”

VIA GQ.com

One comment on “MagLiciouz: Leonardo DiCaprio On The Cover Of GQ

Leave a Reply

